Watch: Phillies Pitcher Records an Out With His Jersey

Philadelphia Phillies starting pitcher Nick Pivetta showed Monday night he did not need his glove to make an out on a batted ball.

Los Angeles Dodgers catcher Austin Barnes laced a comebacker 106 mph right at Pivetta and the ball went between the buttons and ended up inside his jersey.

Although umpire Brian O’Nora called Barnes out on the play, SI notes that it may have been the wrong call, quoting MLB Rule 5.09(a):

A catch is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession.

Follow Trent Baker on Twitter @MagnifiTrent

.

Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.