Retribution: Boehner Opponents Booted from Rules Committee

AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite
AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite

After getting re-elected Speaker with less than a majority on Tuesday in what was the biggest party revolt in more than 150 years, House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) and his allies have reportedly already started to punish House Republicans who opposed him.

According to a Politico report, Reps. Daniel Webster (R-FL) and Richard Nugent (R-FL) “will be booted from their spots on the House Rules Committee” and “more punishment is likely to come for others that crossed Boehner.”
Webster ran against Boehner and Nugent voted for Webster.
Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX), a Boehner ally, chairs the powerful rules committee.
After 25 House Republicans opposed Boehner’s Speakership, Boehner won with less than a majority, which had occurred only four times since 1917, as Breitbart News’s Matt Boyle noted.
As Breitbart News reported, Reps. Justin Amash (R-MI), Rod Blum (R-IA), Dave Brat (R-VA), Jim Bridenstine (R-OK), Curt Clawson (R-FL), Scott DesJarlais (R-TN), Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Scott Garrett (R-NJ), Chris Gibson (R-NY), Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Tim Huelskamp (R-KS), Walter Jones (R-NC), Steve King (R-IA), Thomas Massie (R-KY), Mark Meadows (R-NC), Richard Nugent (R-FL), Gary Palmer (R-AL), Bill Posey (R-FL), Scott Rigell (R-VA), Marlin Stutzman (R-IN), Randy Weber (R-TX), Daniel Webster (R-FL) and Ted Yoho (R-FL) “voted for alternatives to Boehner” while “Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX) voted present.”


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.