Conservatives Launch House Freedom Caucus

AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite
AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite

A new caucus aimed at pushing “an agenda of limited, constitutional government” is up-and-running, launched by nine conservative members of the House of Representatives.

Monday the conservative Republicans — including many who’ve been critics of House leadership — announced the formation of what they call the House Freedom Caucus.

“The House Freedom Caucus gives a voice to countless Americans who feel that Washington does not represent them,” the group’s mission statement reads.

“We support open, accountable and limited government, the Constitution and the rule of law, and policies that promote the liberty, safety and prosperity of all Americans,” it adds.

The founding members of the group are: Reps. Scott Garrett (R-NJ), Jim Jordan (R-OH), John Fleming (R-LA), Matt Salmon (R-AZ), Justin Amash (R-MI), Raúl Labrador (R-ID), Mick Mulvaney (R-SC), Ron DeSantis (R-FL) and Mark Meadows (R-NC).

National Journal first reported about the — then unnamed — caucus earlier this month as some conservatives expressed frustration with the direction of the Republican Study Committee.

According to National Journal, the founding members have been dissatisfied that the RSC, which was set up to wield conservative force in the conference, has been getting too close to leadership.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.