Pelosi Leads Delegation of Dems to Cuba


House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi is leading a delegation to Cuba this week, her office announced Tuesday.

The trip by Pelosi and eight Democratic lawmakers: Reps. Eliot Engel (D-NY),  Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Collin Peterson (D-MN), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Nydia Velázquez (D-NY), Jim McGovern (D-MA), Steve Israel (D-NY) and David Cicilline (D-RI) will be the first House delegation to visit the Cuba since the Obama administration moved to normalize relations with the island dictatorship.

According to Pelosi’s office, the Democrats arrive Tuesday. They are slated to meet with Cuban government officials, Cardinal Jaime Ortega y Alamino, local community leaders, and American officials at the U.S. Interests Section.

“This delegation travels to Cuba in friendship and to build upon the announcement of U.S. normalization of relations and other initiatives announced by President Obama,” Pelosi said.

Obama’s move to normalize relations has received criticism from Republicans and lawmakers of Cuban decent.

“This delegation will work to advance the U.S.-Cuba relationship and build on the work done by many in the Congress over the years, especially with respect to agriculture and trade,” Pelosi added.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.